A rare event has happened. And by rare event, I truly do mean rare in the most sincere sense. So rare that I have no doubt in my mind that the stars are realigning themselves as we speak. But what is this rare event you ask? Well, it’s just so happens I’ve fallen in love with my book again.

Now, now, I’ll do you all the favor of toning myself down a bit. Chances are, this state of being won’t last for too long. That’s just the nature of the Muse.

But nonetheless, it goes without saying that I am in a state of ecstasy. And knowing that this state of ecstasy is as fleeting as it is, I’ve scrambled toward my laptop to compile an article for you motley crew of wonderful degenerates. 😀

Getting back to the subject at hand, being able to love the book again is a sensation that a writer scarcely comes across more than a few times in the process of drafting. Wordsmiths can be so pessimistic at times that they aren’t aware of the numerous opportunities that they ought to be taking advantage of while in this state. Just think about it!

Fellow writers tell us that the most important realization we could ever make about our hobby is that we’ll end up hating the book we’re making at one point or another. They tell us to brace ourselves, to be willing to write garbage, and to force our posteriors down on our seats even when we really just want to be done with it all. And there is much truth in this advice.

The hardest part about writing is certainly those long periods of time were you dread the thought of even seeing your manuscript. And it goes without saying that much–if not most– of the advice that we dispense should be focused on getting prospective authors through this road block.

But due to the excessive focus we have on the worst parts of writing, I find that we are at a loss when we actually feel confident about out work. The days we start typing up our manuscripts and find words coming into our minds that were originally not there or plot holes being sown together with ease, we are left dumbstruck. Sure, we’re all happy and giddy that things are going well for us, but we don’t know what to make of it.

So I thought I’d compile three pointers as to what you’d expect to try to do on those scarce occasions that you find yourself enjoying your writing.

1. Try to Exceed your daily goals

Now, I know that this seems contradictory when you take into account my previous post, but I never said that word counts were entirely bad. I just felt that they shouldn’t be held to that almost religious standard that many writers hold them to and the same should be said for all daily writing goals.

That being said…

You should really consider writing just a tad bit more than you’re used to. And I don’t mean to imply that you’re a lazy writer (that would just be me projecting my own faults on to you). But let’s be honest. Most of the time, since we hate our novels, we just want to be done with our sessions.

This could be for countless reasons. Maybe you’re sick, maybe you’re tired, maybe you’re emotional on that day, or as far more usual, you’d rather partake in the constructive act of scrolling through your social media. But in the case of regular days, this is understandable.

It’s very easy to get burnt up when we’re not so hype about our books. After all, why would you bother to put yourself through the mental agony of writing when you could just be lounging on a sofa and doing something fun!

But the paradigm shifts when it turns out that you’re getting the muse. For the first time in forever, you feel like you could actually have fun during a writing sessions, and by all means, have AS MUCH FUN AS POSSIBLE.

Think about it. It might another month or so before you get an opportunity like this again! So while you have the mental capacity, force yourself to do more!

2. Experiment when you were afraid to do so

Chances are, that ideas are cascading out of your mind faster than you can even keep track of them. Plot points, plot twists, character revelations, tidbits of world-building, new characters, a piece of prose, and countless others will start assailing your mind for space in your story. And if there was ever a time for you to unleash these ideas, it would be now.

Who knows if you’ll have the willpower to go with the idea that you’re thinking about without the muse? Who knows if you’ll even remember the idea once the Muse has left you? Your creative juices are coursing through your veins at this point!

It’s your duty to give them an outlet!

Let those brimming ideas pour into your novel, because even if they sound ridiculous or might change the structure of the story, they might end up becoming key elements during revision. And if you’re afraid that they’ll just end up as a garbled mess, then don’t be afraid! This is only the first of many drafts–hell, you could do this same thing by the seventh draft for all I care!

So let the words flow from your fingers, and who knows? Maybe you’ll end up coming up with a gem like no other.

3. Read this article

Yeah, yeah, shameless self-promotion. Believe me, I know. But this is an old article of mine that I feel is very relevant to the subject matter. It concerns three basic truths on how the Muse works with you.

In there, I go into more detail about what i mean by the Muse, but the most important part is when I talk about accepting that the Muse will go away. I think it’s a good fit with what I’m trying to convey here, so I’d urge all of you to give it a looksie.

***

In short, the Muse is the most mystical element of the writing process. It comes rarely, and when it does come, it could go away in just the blink of an eye. So if you find yourself feeling pumped about your book for true reason, then keep in mind the pointers I gave you in this post.

So what about you guys? Have you felt the Muse come to you? How do you feel about your novel while you read this post? Do you love it? Hate it? Is it a Love-Hate relationship? Feel free to type down in the comments below!

As always, this has been the QuestingAuthor. Keep writing, my friends.

